Photo-Songs

“I realized that photography isn’t merely an act of selection, but is equally an act of rejection, deciding what you won’t allow in.”

Art Kane

 
 

Lady Madonna (The Beatles, 1968)

 
 

“…Lady Madonna, children at your feet.
Wonder how you manage to make ends meet…”

 
 

Eleanor Rigby (The Beatles, 1966)

 
 

“…Waits at the window, wearing the face that she keeps in a jar by the door
Who is it for?…”

 
 

When I’m Sixty-Four (The Beatles, 1967)

 
 

“When I get older losing my hair,
Many years from now,
Will you still be sending me a Valentine
Birthday greetings bottle of wine?…”

 
 

Life magazine did a big issue on the Beatles. I was illustrating lyrics. I think it’s a complete failure as an illustration, but I’m glad I took the picture, he’s a beautiful guy, a Chelsea Pensioner, with pride and self esteem.”

 
 

With God on Our Side (Bob Dylan, 1963)

 
 

“Oh my name it is nothin’
My age it means less
The country I come from
Is called the Midwest
I’s taught and brought up there
The laws to abide
And that land that I live in
Has God on its side…”

 
 

Desolation Row (Bob Dylan, 1965)

 
 

“…Cinderella, she seems so easy

It takes one to know one, she smiles

And puts her hands into her back pockets

Bette Davis style…”

 
 

Who Killed Davey Moore (Bob Dylan, 1963)

 
 

“Who killed Davey Moore,
Why an’ what’s the reason for?…”

 
 

We Shall Overcome (Pete Seeger, 1963)

 
 

“Hey we shall overcome, we shall overcome
We shall overcome someday
Darlin’ here in my heart, yeah I do believe
We shall overcome someday.Well we’ll walk hand in hand, we’ll walk hand in hand…”