Frida Kahlo, Patti Smith and Noguchi’s Butterflies


Patti Smith. Photo by Robert Mapplethorpe, 1987

 
 

Noguchi’s Butterflies

I can not walk

I can not see

Further than what

Is in front of me

I lay on my back

yet I do not cry

Transported in space by the butterflies.

Above my bed

Another sky

With the wings you sent

Within my sight

All pain dissolves

In another light

Transported thru

Time

By the butterfly

This little song

Came to me

Like a little gift as I stood

Beside the bed of Frida.

I give it to you with much love,

Patti Smith

 
 

On May 4th, 2012 a press conference for Patti Smith’s first show in Mexico was held at “La Casa Azul”, Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera’s residence located in Coyoacán (México City). Patti performed a couple of songs in their honor and left a beautiful poem for Frida, inspired on a butterfly collection that friend and architect Isamu Noguchi gave her many years ago, which hangs on the ceiling of Frida’s night bed.

Leave a comment