The Flower of the Giver-of-Life


Desnudo con girasoles (Nude with Sunflowers), Diego Rivera, 1946

 
 

AZTEC FLOWER SONG

Be indomitable, Oh my heart!
Love only the sunflower;
It is the flower of the Giver-of-Life!
What can my heart do?
Have we come, have we sojourned here on earth in vain?
As the flowers wither, I shall go.
Will there be nothing of my glory ever?
Will there be nothing of my fame on earth?
At most songs, at most flowers,
What can my heart do?
Have we come, have we sojourned on earth in vain?

Anonymous

(Pre-Columbian)

Leave a Reply

