It’s Like That


Jacques Prévert and Ida Chagall- Photo by Gisèle Freund. Saint-Paul-de-Vence, 1953.
Ida Chagall, the only child of the artist Marc Chagall married twice (Michel Gordey was her fisrt husband) and had three children by her second husband, Franz Meyer, a former director of the Kunstmuseum in Basel, Switzerland.

 
 

“A sailor has left the sea
his ship has left the port
the king has left the queen
and a miser has left his gold
it’s like that
A widow has left her grief
a crazy woman has left the madhouse
and your smile has left my lips
it’s like that
You will leave me
you will leave me
you will leave me
you will come back to me
you will marry me
you will marry me
The knife marries the wound
the rainbow marries the rain
the smile marries the tears
the caress marries the frown
it’s like that
And fire marries ice
and death marries life
and life marries love
You will marry me
you will marry me
you will marry me,”

Jacques Prévert

Leave a Reply

