While I Love You Alone


Stills from The Servant (Joseph Losey, 1963).

The soundtrack, by John Dankworth, includes the song All Gone, sung by Cleo Laine, which is used repeatedly in the film.

 
 

ALL GONE

Lyrics: Harold Pinter

Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you
can’t love without you
must love without you alone
Leave it alone it’s all gone
Leave it alone it’s all gone
Don’t stay to see me turn from your arms
Leave it alone it’s all gone
Give me my death
close my mouth
Give me my breath
close my mouth
How can I bear the ghost of you here
Can’t love without you
must love without you
Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you
can’t love without you
must love without you alone
Give me my death
close my mouth
Give me my breath
close my mouth
How can I bear the ghost of you here
Can’t love without you
must love without you
Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you alone
Now while I love you
can’t love without you
must love without you alone

 
 

To listen to this song, please take a gander at The Genealogy of Style‘s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Genealogy-of-Style/597542157001228?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

