Butterfly Omen (R.I.P. Robin Williams)


“When I was a girl I would look out my bedroom window at the caterpillars; I envied them so much. No matter what they were before, no matter what happened to them, they could just hide away and turn into these beautiful creatures that could fly away completely untouched.”

 
 

R.I.P. Robin Williams (1951-2014). Still from Patch Adams (Tom Shadyac, 1998).

 
 

After the murder of his girlfriend, Patch questions God about the suffering of mankind. Standing on a cliff, he contemplates suicide. He then sees a butterfly which reminds him of Carin’s telling him earlier how she always wished she was a caterpillar that could someday transform itself and fly away. The butterfly lands on his medical bag and afterward on his shirt before flying away. This appears to Patch to be Carin reincarnated and it revives his spirits, and he decides to continue his work in her honor.

 
 

One thought on “Butterfly Omen (R.I.P. Robin Williams)

  1. Pingback: Tuesday 10’s – My 10 before 30 list | Hipstyler, Pretty & Ginger

Leave a Reply

